Welcome to Caldwell County Appraisal District

Tax Entities

Caldwell Appraisal District is responsible for the fair market appraisal of properties
within each of the following taxing entities:

Caldwell County Caldwell ESD #2
Caldwell-Hays ESD #1** City of Lockhart
Lockhart Independent School District City of Luling**
Luling Independent School District City of Mustang Ridge**
Prairie Lea Independent School District** City of Martindale**
Plum Creek Conservation District** City of Niederwald**
Plum Creek Underground Water District** City of Uhland**
San Marcos Independent School District** City of San Marcos**
Hays Independent School District** Gonzales Independent School District**
Waelder Independent School District** Gonzales County Underground Water Conservation**
Austin Community College ** Caldwell County MUD No 1
Caldwell ESD #3 Caldwell Valley MUD  No 1
Caldwell ESD #4 Cotton Center MUD  No 2

** Only portion of Entity that is located inside the boundary of Caldwell County

Detailed breakdown about your Property Taxes

Please click Here for more information from your local taxing units.


Caldwell County Property Truth in Taxation Public Information

The Texas Legislature does not set the tax amount of your local taxes. Your property tax burden is determined by your locally elected officials. The Texas Constitution requires local taxing units to make taxpayers aware of tax rate proposals and to afford taxpayers the opportunity to roll back or limit tax increases.

Property owners are encouraged to use this website to find information concerning your estimated taxes, the taxing units to which your taxes are distributed, the dates and locations of any public hearings where your locally elected officials will determine your tax rates, and other important property tax information.


Important Notice Information and News

2022 Appraisal Notices have been mailed April 29, 2022 for most properties.
Protest Deadline is May 31, 2022.

Remember to turn in your Homestead applications.

The 2022 Appraisal Values were certified as of July 18, 2022.

You may apply for the 2023 Tax Year for AG applications.
 Please see new requirements.

Processing of Deeds for Ownership changes are currently as of recorded date JANUARY 31, 2023.

All property splits & subdivision created after April 1, 2023 will be split for 2024 tax year.
These splits and new accounts will not create a 2023 tax bill.


Informative Videos

How to Present Your Case at
Appraisal Review Board Hearing
  Small Businesses:
How to Present Your Case at
Appraisal Review Board Hearing

Informative Documents

  Tax Payer Remedies
  How to Pay Taxes Online

Useful Links

  Texas Comptroller website
  Lockhart Chamber of Commerce

Luling Chamber of Commerce

  Linebarger Grogan Blair Simpson, LLP Delinquent Tax Attorneys
  Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins Mott, LLP Delinquent Tax Attorneys
  Capitol Appraisal Group LLC - Minerals & Utility Appraisals